At The Grove Education Centre we recognise that each child has individual needs, abilities and strengths. In every classroom the learning environment and curriculum are personalised.

The Disability Discrimination Act 1992, Disability Standards for Education 2005 (Commonwealth of Australia, 2006) are intended to give students with disability the same rights as other students, including the right to education and training ‘on the same basis’ as students without disability.

The Standards apply to education providers, including principals, schools and teachers. Principals and schools can meet their obligations under the Standards by giving consideration to ‘reasonable adjustments’ to ensure that students with disability are provided with opportunities to participate in education and training on the same basis as students without disability. Before any adjustments are made, ‘consultation’ takes place between the school, student, and parents or carers.

The Australian Curriculum is designed to teach students what it takes to be confident and creative individuals and active and informed citizens. It sets the goals for what all students should learn as they progress through their school life – wherever they live in Australia and whatever school they attend.

From the first year of schooling to Year 10, students develop knowledge and skills in eight learning areas including STEAM (science, technology, engineering, arts, maths):

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Health and Physical Education (HPE)
  • Humanities and Social Sciences (HASS)
  • The Arts
  • Technologies

General capabilities within the Australian Curriculum make up a set of knowledge, skills, behaviours and dispositions that can be developed through all the learning areas.

  • Literacy
  • Numeracy
  • Information and communication technology competence
  • Critical and creative thinking
  • Personal and social competence
  • Ethical behaviour

In the early years, priority is given to literacy and numeracy development as the foundations for further learning. As students make their way through the primary years, they focus more on the knowledge, understanding and skills of all eight learning areas.

Towards year 10, the curriculum is designed so students develop skills for civic, social and economic participation in their community.

Students at The Grove participate in modified SACE from year 10-12.